Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Tebowing?

Today I was having a discussion with a big sports fan. I made the comment that I am not a Tim Tebow fan. I guess that was the wrong thing to say. This fan went on to tell me that those of us who are against Tebow, are against God himself. Really? WOW! He said that Tim Tebow has single handily brought faith back to the non believers. His talent is sent from God. Okay Okay..I get it..If you don't like Tebow, don't tell a Tebow fan.
I don't care about football. I don't pay attention to football players..unless my husband or his friends make me. I don't have a favorite professional team. Heck, I don't even have a favorite college team..I have a UNFAVORITE college team, but I won't talk about BYU right now.
Tim Tebow seems like a pretty nice guy. He seems humble. He seems polite. I am sure that he has talent. I really haven't paid attention.
My problem with him is this: "Faith without Works"
My mom told me once, "You need to pray. You need to ask God..but you need to do the work as well." That stuck with me.
Tim Tebow likes to pray. He likes to show everyone that he likes to pray. Great. More power to him..but he doesn't do the work. He needs to constantly work on his "God given talent" He needs to do better.
I think that he needs to take his "Tebowing" a little bit more personal. By all means, take a knee..but don't make that your "Shtick."
I think that's what it's become for a lot of people...
Tebow is a model of faith for many, and that is great..but it shouldn't be all about his prayers.
BYU Teams gather together before every game and pray for help, for courage and strength, which is not advertised. ( believe me it kills me when I have to say something nice about this school) Notre Dame does the same..and it's not printed on T-shirts and sold for $30.
Faith is important. Prayer is important, but it is not what a football player should be known for. Sorry. He's making millions of dollars..the least he could do is be a GREAT quaterback....
Now, I am not a bad person for thinking these things. I am not going to Hell because I don't like Tebow. I am not anti faith, anti religion, or anti God...I respect those who love Tebow, who love Tebowing. I love people who have such faith that they continually cheer for a team that just can't win when it matters. I love sports fans..I just won't Tebow...I'll stick to thanking God in my own way...

No comments:

Post a Comment